Homework page for Math 311:01, spring 2003


Due Wednesday, April 30 Two integral problems.

Due Thursday, April 10 The next set of workshop problems.

Due Thursday, April 3 3.7: 8, 9 and 4.1: 2, 12.

Due Wednesday, March 26 3.3: 4, 9 and 3.4: 1, 9. The next set of workshop problems is due Monday, March 31.

Please finish reading the applicable sections of Chapter 3: sections 3.1--3.5. Please do the next workshop problems.

Postponed: Due Wednesday, March 12 These textbook homework problems: 3.2: 4, 9, 11, 13a, 16. Students should begin reading 3.3, 3.4, and 3.5.

Due Thursday, February 27 The next set of workshop problems, which may be done either individually or by groups, and these textbook problems: 2.4: 3, 4a and 3.1: 8, 10.

Due Wednesday, February 12 The next set of workshop problems, which may be done either individually or by groups.

Due Thursday, February 6 2.1: 12, 18; 2.2: 2, 7. Please finish a first reading of chapter 2 in the next few days.

Due Wednesday, February 5 The first set of workshop problems, which must be done by groups of students.

Due Wednesday, January 29 Read sections 2.1 and 2.2
Please do page 29 (section 2.1) problems 2 b,c, 5, and 7. Please do problems 2 b,c and 5 citing at each stage one of the algebraic axioms, as we so painfully did in class. Problem 7 is a different sort of problem, and may be done by imitating the book's proof of 2.1.4.
Postponed to Thursday, January 30.

Due Monday, January 27 Read chapter 1. Sections 1.1 and 1.2 should be a review for students.
Hand in the entrance exam.


Maintained by greenfie@math.rutgers.edu and last modified 2/4/20023